Ok, so I saw Lord of the Rings today. First showing on opening day in the Tri-Cities. Eat that Jason Meaden. I was amazed. Astounded. I never really believed it could happen. I never truly thought that anyone would ever…MAKE A MOVIE THAT FREAKING LONG. My mother fell asleep a couple of times and Lala? Well let’s just ssay she gets the contortionist’s award for all the amazing positions I looked over and saw her in during the course of the movie. I liked it, yes. And the scenery was cool, and the acting was superb, and the effects were fairly amazing. And Frodo and Legolas are just, well, off the charts hot. But at the same time, I don’t think I could handle sitting through it again. Ok, MAYBE with Beatle’s commentary…maybe. So, sorry all of you who were/are hailing it as the greatest movie of all time…I’m not going to go that far yet. Sadly enough, the theater was only half full, and the kid sitting beside me was pretty frightening. “I like Gandalf…he’s my favorite…how many times have you read the book?” (Picture the kid in line for Santa in front of Ralphie in “A Christmas Story”) And I don’t know what was up with having the Austin Powers movie preview as the first thing to grace our eyes. Whatever.

What’s one of your biggest fears? I’ll tell you one of mine, cuz you can’t tell me. Cuz for you to repond to that question without sending this email cuz you wouldn’t even know I had asked it and…I’m just going to shut up now and chase the biggest rabbit out there like I was taught to by Dr. Meyers. Ok…I’m scared of being a shallow person. There are people out there in this world who I can talk to…and they know almost everything about me. The things they don’t know are events that have just happened, or obscure things like…I used to eat centipedes or something. It’s scary to know that there’s someone out there who knows how you think, and the patterns in which you react, and what buttons to push, and how to get you to say yes or no or to walk away or come back. Like my friend Mike, for example. He knows…KNOWS how I think. He can tell me exactly what I am thinking about doing or saying in a situation. He knows when to tell me that I’m overreacting and when to tell me that everything will be okay. And he says he doesn’t know me at all. Does that mean I’m shallow? If he says he doesn’t know me, but he really does…I feel like he’s expecting me to produce something more profound…and I’m not going to. I want people to know me…I’m pretty sure of that. But I still get scared when people get to know me, because I hate being manipulated (it’s pretty easy)…Quite a conundrum…be known and be “shallow” or be mysterious and be alone much of the time. I’m not sure which is the lesser/greater evil. Gosh, I feel like I’m rambling. I can’t talk anything of any meaning tonight…so I think I’m just going to go play some more Zelda with Thomas. I love you all and miss you…

Damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead!
Me.

