I know that at least one of you will appreciate my title. *smile* Folks…welcome to the super coolest day of the entire YEAR! I LOVE THE FOURTH OF JULY!!!!!! *Rogue dances around like a maniac* Seriously, guys. The Fourth of July is my FAVORITE holiday in the history of EVERYTHING!!! *Rogue dances again* Wow. Guys, I haven’t even had any sugar/caffeine/alcohol tonight. Yippee!!!

The Fourth always brings about 2 very different sets of emotions in me. First, it stirs up memories of my childhood. (Gosh, you know you’re old when you can say that…). I always think about how I never ever got to see the fireworks when I was little. (That’s an exaggeration). There were about three years in a row where we didn’t get to see fireworks…and those were very traumatic years for me. But I also think about all the times I spent hanging out with my friends in the park…riding jetskiis, or in boats, or picnicking (sp). And how every year I get transported back in to the realm of a five year old when those rockets go shooting up into the air and explode with a dazzle razzle snazzy mishmash of color. It’s okay that I’m going “ohhhhh!” and ‘ahhhh!” because everyone around me is too. And I like to feel the “BOOM” against my sternum when a huge blast shatters the night above me. Cuz I know everyone around me is experiencing the odd feeling of your heart beating a bit off kilter (rabbit trail: that’s why I like roller coasters too…). I love that fireworks are dangerous and beautiful. I love that they are a peaceful representation of what thousands of people sacrificed without even knowing me, just so I could be free. I love that every five minutes someone says “that HAS to be the finale” but no…it just gets better. I love watching the smoke drift in a lazy motion over the river after it’s all over.

The second emotion is a fierce longing for the future. I just want someone to cuddle up against. The past few years, I’ve wanted to go to the River of Fire alone, just so I wouldn’t have to listen to my family squabbling, or my mom complaining about the bugs, or my dad explaining why the clouds are just so. I love my family…but I want one holiday just for me, and darnit…I want it to be the Fourth of July. But I’ve never had a boyfriend around on the Fourth. Not complaining…just wishing he’d hurry up and get here so I don’t have to miss out on the romantic explosions over the river many more years. My children are definitely going to see fireworks. Every year. Family tradition. My children are going to get to play with sparklers. My children are going to know what the holiday is about.

So I suppose you’ll all want to know what I actually did this Fourth of July. It was pretty low key for me. We went over to a friend’s house for a barbeque. That was kinda fun. I experienced roasted pineapple for the first time. That crap is stinking good! We fed ducks…and that was about it. Then my family and I went up into the Horse Heaven Hills to watch the fireworks. I had fun, but to be honest…like I said earlier…I wish that I had gone alone. Up in the hills, we could see the fireworks displays from Prosser to Finley. So about four of them all together. It was beautiful. We could see all of the fireworks…but it sounded like a battlefield from a ways off. The booms were muted. But it was awesome to hear the sound of a firework paired up against the chirruping of a cricket. The only bummer was that they stopped the show halfway through. Apparently one of the fireworks (a huge huge huge one) burst too close to the ground and started a fire near the freeway…they had to close it down. So no more fireworks. 😦 Anyway…

I hope you all had a great Fourth of July…and that you had a good time with family and friends, lots of good food, and a scrumdiddlyumptious fireworks display!!! Oh beautiful, for spacious skies…

