“Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit, but in humility consider others better than yourselves. Each of you should look not only to your own interests, but also to the interests of others.” Philippians 2:3,4 (NIV)

My 18 year old brother is one of those stereotypical highschool seniors in a multitude of ways. He plays football and Counterstrike, he has a great girlfriend, he’s with his friends more often than his homework. And my younger brother is a servant.
He’s spent many of his summer vacation days (and now many of his Saturdays), at my grandmother’s house. He cut the grass in 103 degree weather, cleaned out her kitty litter box, and weeded her extensive garden. I’m sure he also put up with her tendency to fuss over small things and constantly insist he’s “coming down with something”.

We’re getting to that point in the semester where things are building up. Bible studies, homework, school events – it seems like there’s never any free time. I often feel that I don’t have enough minutes in the day to get my own needs taken care of, much less those around me. But we are asked to serve others. Not just in the large conspicuous ways, but in the small ways as well. Am I respecting the fact that while I may want to watch TV, my room mate needs to study? Am I noticing that there are empty seats in my car as I drive up to chapel? Am I picking up on the signals people are sending when they simply need a listening ear?

What is being a servant? Volunteering at a nursing home or elementary school? Playing for a youth group’s worship session? Sometimes we tend to think of servanthood as something we need to make time for as opposed to a way of living. It’s not just something we do, but an attitude.

