If any of you have taken the time to thoroughly investigate my site, you may have noticed the link to The Preacher. If you haven’t, I strongly suggest you do. This man amazes me nearly everytime he writes something. (Although lately, he’s more been working on his book and updating us on its progress…but that is perfectly fine). Go to this site. Read it. Let it soak into you. And once you’ve let his words of experience hit you…read his testimony. And get blown away again.Ironically enough, the style in which The Preach writes reminds me of my exboyfriend’s writing style. Honest and blunt, but lyrical and poetic. Every piece he writes has his voice echoing in it, and you can nearly see the artistry of word choice and clarity. And even if he seems to meander a while, he always reaches a point where you go “huh. Of course that’s the way it is…”

I live in a bubble. I know my school has very noble aspirations in its educational goals, but looking around, I often see my ‘mates are very much focused on appearances rather than a deeper life of holiness. Obviously, this is a blanket statement – it doesn’t apply to everyone. But there are many times when, under the pretense of concern, the latest news will come down the Western tube and spread like an Ebola outbreak. And people will know things about you that you didn’t know were true.
My college is small enough that oftentimes it still seems like highschool. We still have somewhat of a popular crowd, and a “jock” crowd, and even a bit of a nerd crowd. One would tend to perceive our “cool” crowd as the spiritual coterie. The uber-“holy” if you will, are those who consistently lead worship, and Bible studies, and *gasp* are student leaders in fellowships and student government. Which is all pish-tosh, but that’s another post. Those who are popular are visible. Which to me, seems fairly hypocritical (personal bias, I know). The spiritually elite appear perfect to the rest.

I’ve written a post in the past which talks about this semblance of perfection, and how I fail miserably on a daily basis. I’d like to say I’ve outwardly become a better Christian while attending school here. But, I still swear – not as much, and I still have very negative thoughts about people when I’m angry – although I temper myself better. I believe God has been working much more on my innards than all of my religious merit badges. And I won’t sit here and boast about how much God has changed me to make me a better person – I don’t want it to sound like it’s of myself that this happened. But being here has changed me – God has used this place.

The Preach embodies the type of Christian I would like to be someday. Obviously, I know I have a higher desideratum of holiness embodied in Christ – but I would love to have the clarity of spirit and focus Preach communicates. He is straightforward. He presents the truth, no matter how harsh it is – and not just the truth of God’s word, but the truth God conveys through life as well. His faith is real, and you can tell it pulses through him, even when he feels faithless. I strive to reach a point where I can steadfastly hold to the same promise that he spoke to the Lord.


“God, I don’t have great faith, but I can be faithful. My belief in you may be seasonal, but my faithfulness will not. I will follow in the way of Christ. I will act as though my life and the lives of others matter. I will love.

I have no greater gift to offer than my life. Take it.” -Real Live Preacher

