I’m going to be starting a new series of posts through the next few weeks, months, whatev. God’s truth is everywhere, and I’m not claiming to be receiving or giving messages from God…but lots of things in this world teach me lessons.

I’m going to call it “Beatles Theology”. I love The Beatles. I know, I know, they aren’t a “Christian” band…but who cares. And I know that studying God’s Word is top priority over studying the lyrics of the Fab Four. No worries. It may be a little odd… and it’s not exactly perfect, but it should be a little fun, a little crazy, and a little challenging (I hope).

And Your Bird Can Sing

You tell me that you’ve got everything you want/and your bird can sing/but you don’t get me, you don’t get me.

I’ve been struggling a lot lately with the concept of focus. Where does my focus lie, is it in the right things, how do I keep it on the right things? It’s occurred to me that I am much more self centered than I ought to be. I want to be recognized and noticed…although it is on my own terms as opposed to something like Homecoming. Is it a natural thing to want to feel interesting before you find yourself interested? Because I certainly feel that way. This morning’s chapel really brought this problem to a point. Our campus pastor spoke on silence…being still and letting God be who He is. I will tell you, I am a person who is normally comfortable with silence. Through most of my high school and college years, I’ve spent the majority of driving time with my radio off, especially when traveling home from a job. And it’s not because the only radio stations around play trash, although that’s mainly true. There’s just so much noise bashing around me – with my music and the nintendo, and people talking (talking…like will it raaaain today…), and typing, and cars, and even just the thoughts in my own head – it makes me feel so hurried. There’s no room for quiet peace.

You say you’ve seen seven wonders and your bird is green/But you can’t see me, you can’t see me.

I’m excited because this summer is bringing something that I can’t expect – and I have all these plans. I want to make lots of money with this new job I’ll be training for. I want to be able to travel to Israel and take pictures with my father. I want with all my heart to go to Africa. And who knows, maybe I’ll be able to do all of those things and more. But, this is all what I want. Often, it’s very hard for me to differentiate between what Rogue wants and God wants for Rogue – especially when it comes to long term planning. I like to spout out the phrase “God wouldn’t place the desire in my heart if it wasn’t there…” because it makes me feel better. What if God gave me that desire so that I can give it to Him? And if I’m focusing so much on what I want and myself…I worry about if I’ll have any real guarantee of being happy – because I won’t know if I’m doing what God wants me to do. I feel I’m always riding this see-saw of am I focusing on God enough or am I focusing on myself to see if I’m focusing on God?

When your prized possessions start to wear you down/ Look in my direction, I’ll be round, I’ll be round

I have to go where God is working. God will not work on my terms. So when I get done having my little hissy fit and saying that I want things done my way or no way, He’ll be waiting and working where I’m supposed to be. And instead of being alone and miserable and pouting, I can go where He is and experience joy. Even if that means working with a team of people who frustrate me constantly. Even if that means shooting my pride down with a bazooka and admitting I’ve been wrong about a plethora of things. Even if that means I don’t get recognized. I’m not supposed to be recognized anyway, God is. Eventually I’ll learn that I’ll be much happier when I let myself love working where God is working.

When your bird is broken will it bring you down/ You may be awoken, I’ll be round, I’ll be round

I drive in my car with silence because it forces me to slow down. Music can control us, and boy, do I understand that. I’ll play fast music when I want to get somewhere quickly – from home to school, for example. But I’m not a person who likes to hurry. This could partly be because I am very stuck in doing things my way, and this may need to change. But I view it as a benefit. While all of my seventh grade friends were bemoaning the fact that we still had to suffer through another year of middle school before we could take the leap of greatness into the palace of high school, I was content to play tetherball and play pong and just be a seventh grader. If I bemoaned anything, it was that I only had a year to be in the grade I was in. I only have this moment in this moment…and there are many times this saddens me…because there are so many great moments in life! Our campus pastor talked about God being in the silence, and how we miss God’s voice, but we expect God to turn up the volume instead of us slowing down and listening for Him. It isn’t that hard. Silence is a beautiful thing – full of glory. And God.

You tell me that you’ve heard every sound there is/ And your bird can swing/But you can’t hear me, you can’t hear me…

“And Your Bird Can Sing” – By John Lennon and Paul McCartney

