I am now officially an adult. I have a diploma proving I’ve finished highschool…a degree proving I’ve finished college. I’ve consumed alcohol, discussed marriage, paid taxes. All that’s left is to find one of those elusive “jobs” that everyone keeps stressing about. And there’s a difference between the things I learned in high school and what I learned in college. I’m not just talking about watching a movie for literature class versus reading Kafka’s “Trial.”

In highschool I learned you should always turn your homework in on time and well done.
In college I learned you need to prioritize which homework is actually vital to your grade.

In highschool I learned to dress the way you want to dress and screw anyone who says otherwise.
In college I learned sometimes you need to learn to be comfortable in certain styles.

In highschool I learned things like prom and homecoming are merely popularity contests.
In college I learned some of the people on homecoming and student government really want to make a difference.

In highschool I learned boys are pigs and you should wait to date them until they’re mature.
In college I learned most boys don’t grow up but the ones that do are wonderful.

In highschool I learned how to look good and do what was expected of me.
In college I learned how to be good and do what was right. In highschool I learned there are many people who can get by on their looks and reputation.
In college I learned that doesn’t change.

In highschool I was taught tolerance.
In college I learned to properly stand up against things I can’t tolerate.

In highschool I learned girls are the meanest creatures on earth.
In college I learned that girlfriends are one of the greatest things on earth.

In highschool I learned what it’s like to have money.
In college I learned what it’s like to be dirt poor with 8 cents in your bank account.

In highschool I learned how to look like I was going with the flow.
In college I learned how to dye my hair, pierce my nose and feel comfortable wearing bunny ears with a cowboy hat around.

In highschool I learned how to be flirtatious and decode what “boys really meant.”
In college I learned how to be outgoing instead of flirtatious and how to be “just friends” with guys.

In highschool I learned how to love the desert.
In college I learned to love the rain.

In highschool I learned to think “it’s all about me!”
In college I learned I’m glad it’s not…but I’m glad I’m a part of it.

