I like country music.

Some people didn’t know that. Some people…well, I have led them astray. And some people might just be in denial. But I like country music. Y’all. I grew up in the desert and although that doesn’t mean I HAVE to like country music, it does mean I was immersed in it during the influential years.

Country music seems to get a bad rap. Seriously. For a few years, I was very secretive about my like of country and I have spent a lot of time with people who do not like country. They complain about the twang. They complain about the mopeyness. They complain about how it’s depressing. I wonder if some of these people even know what they’re talking about.

Twang.
Okay, yes. Some country songs do have a large amount of twang in their vocals. But these are songs that are either a) from the 80′s and we know how I feel about 80′s music (vomits) or b) slow songs which I don’t really listen to anyway. The majority of good country songs today have only a hint of twang…if that. I firmly believe most people complaining about twang in country music today are classifying twang as steel guitars and the absence of an overpowering bass line. The influence of pop on the country music world has done wonders, in my opinion. Less twang, more bang. I like it, I love it, I want some more of it.Mopeyness.
Did you know Kenny Loggins doesn’t really make country music anymore? The old joke of playing a country music song backwards to regain your dog, your truck and your woman doesn’t hold true anymore. If you haven’t been listening to country music lately, then let me fill you in. A lot of country songs nowadays are empowering. They’re fun. They talk about how much life rocks and what a great day it is to be alive. I didn’t know that counted as moping. If it does, I’m in trouble.Depressing.
If you think the majority of country music is depressing, you have another thing coming. Country music is mostly about having fun. Dierks Bentley anyone? Toby Keith anyone? Okay, the Dixie Chicks aren’t really my style…but I don’t really see their music as depressing. (Maybe their political views…) And how can you not be cheered up by songs whose lyrics make fun of Nascar and list all the ways girls lie to guys (and it’s true)?
For me, country music is great. I think it’s fun, I think it’s honest. Most pop songs today are about lost sex, having sex, or forthcoming sex…or how sexy you are. No thanks. Listening to country music is a great change from that. And listening to country music is a declaration of sorts. So many country songs are about “hey I’ll be my way, you be yours” (Montgomery Gentry’s new song is awesome, btw). If you’re “man/woman” enough to listen to country music and admit it, you might just be the kind of person who is happy just being yourself, no matter what other poeple think. And that, is a great thing. Besides, how can you not like a style of music which brings Raven out in Wranglers?