I always feel a little guilty when it comes to my television watching choices. I’m sure someday I’ll go on some “clean up my life and get rid of bad influences” kick and there will go half of my viewing options. I love shows that are funny. I like shows that deal with painful issues in a comedic and not always realistic manner. Maybe this comes from having lived in a bubble for 23 years. And don’t worry…I hate (cannot emphasize hate enough) Desperate Housewives.
This is why I liked Buffy and Angel so much. I’m still kind of watching them, but I’m not real big on watching the same 1/2 hour program more than once. My nowadays guilty pleasures include Sex and the City (which I know is over, but I haven’t seen all of them!!!), Will and Grace, Jeremiah (not real life but apocolyptic stuff), and if Season 2 ever comes out on DVD – Dead Like Me. Not your real quality tv programming…at least, according to my Dad. I also like Alias and Lost…but not for the same reasons. I like them mostly for the action and the way they make you think outside the box when it comes to plotlines. (hello. two sloanes? come on.)TV programs make me miss my friends. Especially programs about friends – like SATC and WillnGrace. I don’t really have a core group of friends anymore. All of us are floating out in the protozoic ooze which will one day evolve into our adult lives. For most of my life, I’ve had at least someone to be able to call up and go out and see. Even though I never had a “best friend” for longer than a few months while in middle and high school, there was always somebody. ‘Tis this way no longer. Now it’s Kiki and I. When she isn’t with her highschool homegirls.

Next weekend, I’m going to be attending an event which will toss me back in the mix of my highschool relationships. And I mean relationships in almost every sense of the word. Two of my ex-es are in the wedding party. Old friends will be there from both highschool and college. Smashing together like an unwieldy horror movie – Freddy vs Jason or AVP. One of those scenarios where you don’t know who to hug and who to hightail it away from. I’m sure the carnage will be massive and the casualties have a good possibility of being quite high. The stress will be titanic. And then there’s the wedding to think about.

I’d feel much better if I had a pair of Manolo’s to wear, a good gay friend to support me…and maybe a gun.

