Dear Prudence won’t you come out to play

Dear L:
Thank you for opening my eyes to what is not love. For assuming property rights and enforcing them. For making me be a part of but not comfortable in your world. And shoving me up against the locker to thrust your tongue in my ears as I squirmed away and laughed nervously. You forced me to say “I love you” in a desperate tone to save you and made it sound worthless for the first time in my life. Thank you for opening my eyes to what is not love – but what is the game everyone plays.

Dear Prudence greet the brand new day
The sun is up the sky is blue
It’s beautiful and so are you
Dear Prudence won’t you come out to play

To M:
Thank you for making me feel again. You never went away – despite my attempts to make you run/cry/push back. You are and forever will be an unstoppable force of nature. You have never fallen in my eyes even though you have lost your hold on my heart. Thank you for forever affirming my beauty and worth while at the same time my heart was broken a million times over by you and your blunt affection. Thank you for making me feel again – even if it was from rejection.

Dear Prudence open up your eyes

Dear U:
Thank you for being my friend. Your logic brought back normalcy to a world I had never understood. You were my foundation; taught me modesty propriety humility faith. I was never good enough for you. You smelled of sweat and soap and safety. Tracing a path on your face in the dark made it obvious we were never going anywhere. Breaking your heart was a lesson I’ll never forget. Thank you for being my friend – instead of what you wanted.

Dear Prudence see the sunny skies

The wind is low the birds will sing
That you are part of everything
Dear Prudence, won’t you open up your eyes

Dear R:
Thank you for teaching me to trust my instincts. Trapping me in the lessons I’ve already learned – compassion pride confusion. For the awkward backseat of a car both childlike and childish in its bath of soft christmas light glow. And the imposed sacrifice of friends and future relationships. For showing me sometimes it’s good to run away and to be honest and not say “i love you” back. Thank you for teaching me to trust my gut – and believe my nose when it catches a scent of desperation.

Look around round
Look around round round
Look around

Dear N:
Thank you for teaching me to fight. Out of all of these, you are the only one I still hate. With a passion. A passion which reminisces bitterly of the whirlwind of our past. Spinning out of control before it began. We disgusted each other and we knew it. Oil and water. North and south pole. Romeo and Juliet; destined to be forever repelled. We started in pain and ended with a tornado of a violent knockdown faceoff explosions leaving us both broken in several ways. Thank you for teaching me to fight – for what I really want and to never settle for what I may think I’m destined for.

Dear Prudence let me see your smile
Dear Prudence like a little child
The clouds will be a daisy chain
So let me see your smile again
Dear Prudence won’t you let me see you smile

Dear T:
Thank you for stealing my innocence. With a piteous ploy of “my broken heart fits your broken heart” you made me the yang to your lopsided yin. Faking me into thinking you mature and wise. Oh how the fools follow each other. A subtle dance to your room and your hand over my mouth to silence my noise – both heard and unheard. I’ve never lied like when I was with you and not only to cover for you but to you. You baptized me in lies. Thank you for stealing my innocence – I have never trusted as fully as I once did since you blundered through my days.

Dear Prudence won’t you come out to play
Dear Prudence greet the brand new day
The sun is up the sky is blue
It’s beautiful and so are you
Dear Prudence won’t you come out to play

