I never met the man, but felt if I ever did I’d be perfectly comfortable with him. I have seen every Don Knotts movie ever made. I’ve laughed at him and been frightened with him and angry with him and relieved when he finally got the girl. He gave hope to us gawky, clumsy, a little “out there” kids whenever things worked out. When problems resolved themselves while he was an astronaut or a deputy, or even a mostly harmless outlaw.

He’s from the same era as Fred Rogers and Johnny Carson – the actors who made it okay for strangers to invade our televisions every morning, noon, and night to entertain. Their worlds were safe – and if they became dangerous it was never real. They became fish, or sang a song to cheer us up, or told a joke. And you know heaven is the perfect place for them because here on earth they were cordial, gentlemanly, polite, courteous and kind. And they strove to teach us how to follow their example…

CNN article…

