Who wrote this book and when?
Garth Nix published it in 2001.

Has there been a film version?
No.

Who are the main characters?
Tal – a Chosen who has suddenly found himself representing his people in a struggle against the downfall of their way of life
Milla – an Icecarl girl who has been nominated leader of her people as they battle the Chosen and the Spiritshadows
Sushin – a shadow puppet for a powerful Spiritshadow attempting to take over the world under the Veil
Adras and Odris – Storm Shepherd Spirit Shadows
Uncle Ebbitt – Tal’s Great Uncle
Malen – a young Crone assigned to assist Milla
Sharrakor – the strong Spiritshadow who is attempting to take over the Castle and the world beneath the Veil

What’s it about?
Milla and Tal join up once again with their respective forces and fight the greatest battle of their time – against Sharrakor, a former king of Aenir. Sharrakor has nursed a hatred of those beneath the Veil for centuries and will do anything he can to capture the Castle and the Ice by destroying the Veil and unleashing the creatures of Aenir on the Chosen and Icecarl alike. It will take all of Milla and Tal’s strength, wit, and courage to save themselves and their peoples.

Why is this book a classic?
It is not a classic, but Garth Nix is a celebrated author.

Why should I read this book?
To finish up the Seventh Tower series.

Why did this book make your list?
I love Garth Nix’s writing and this was part of a series I hadn’t read yet.

Has it won any awards?
No, I don’t believe so.

Anything else?
I wish Garth Nix would write more books. And I’m not going to publish a spoiler version of this last book because I want you to go out and read them. Neener.

Personal thoughts:
This was a very satisfying book to round out the series once I let myself get into the story once again. I was very impressed that Nix took us back to Aenir, a place I’ve wanted to explore more and more with every book. I also felt for the first time the expanse of Aenir as a place, and the mystery of the magic in that country. And I was also frustrated just a bit because the ending seemed so quick – all of a sudden things stopped and there was a quick explanation as to what happened next. I never enjoy stories that end that way, I like a full explanation. And usually Nix provides this, but however, this time I felt it was a bit lacking.

