This is a little out of the ordinary, but…

I posted a review on the next in the Thursday Next series. However, since even reviewing this book a little will produce some spoilers for the first book, I did not want to post it on this site. If you have read the first book and would like to know about the second (or if you never plan on reading these, which I highly discourage) then you can check out the review on my “Skip to the End” site. The link is over there…
Personal thoughts:
Jasper Fforde is just a spectacular author. His first book stunned me with its creativity. His second book doesn’t just continue in this creative world – it expands on it. Here is a man who doesn’t allow his imagination to be limited in any way and thank the Lord he’s an author. While obviously not as fresh as the first book (there’s nothing like the first introduction to an alternate universe) “Lost in a Good Book” completely makes up for it. Although I am unfamiliar with Miss Havisham, having never read “Great Expectations” all the way through (I’ll admit it, I can’t stand Dickens’) I didn’t feel I really missed anything. Obviously, I’m sure the reading would have been a bit richer had I read it prior to this book, but I don’t feel the worse for not having it in my repetoire. Fforde also repeats some of his jokes, but not in a tedious way. Characters who we thought were gone for good still influence the story, and Thursday herself becomes more and more like a friend rather than just a character.

