I just got interviewed by Thea!

How it works:
1. Leave me a comment saying, “Interview me.”
2. I will respond by asking you five questions. I get to pick the questions.
3. You will update your LJ with the answers to the questions.
4. You will include this explanation and an offer to interview someone else in the same post.
5. When others comment asking to be interviewed, you will ask them five questions.
5b) If you want me to interview you, you’ll have to give me a little time since I’m getting married in a week… :p

1) What’s the strangest thing to happen so far while planning your wedding?
I think probably the strangest thing is how (until this last week) not stressful everything has been. Everything just kind of fell into place, with very little trouble or expense. We got a lot of things for free because of connections my dad has, and everyone we know (and some people we don’t know but our parents do) has been so excited and generous it’s been surprising.

2) And: what do you look forward to most about marriage?
I think not living at home anymore. I feel kind of pathetic being 24, unemployed and living at home. And I love my family, but hey – they’re beginning to get a little grating. I’m excited to have somewhere that is “mine” instead of “my parents” or “the college’s.” It will be nice.

3)’kay. Enough of the wedding questions. Tell me an odd story about your childhood.
When I had the chicken pox, I was four years old. My best friend at the time, Libby, got them too and we would take turns going to the other’s house every other day for supervision by the respective moms. Their house’s entire basement was converted into a playroom with so her mom would just shoo us down there figuring we wouldn’t be able to get into much trouble. One of those days, we snuck down a packet of magic markers. We stripped naked and used the magic markers to draw clothes, tattoos, war paint, and anything else that struck our fancy all over our nakey bodies. We smelled fruity from the markers. And I’m not making this up. We have pictures of the aftermath.

4) The last time you danced in public, where were you, and what were you dancing to?
Hmmmm, I don’t dance in public very often. The last time I can remember was square dancing to a very old record at the Trojan/Panda Fellowship Barn Party. I mean Square “Hopping.” No dancing at Baptist college events…

5) Lastly: what book have you re-read the most, and what is it about this marvellous book that keeps you coming back? Can you put your finger on it?

I don’t know what book I’ve re read the most, but I’m betting it’s one of the Chronicles of Narnia series. Or A Tree Grows In Brooklyn. The Chronicles of Narnia series is pretty much one of the best written fantasy series in existence. The universe it reveals is unforgettable.
As for “A Tree Grows In Brooklyn” it does the same thing for characters. Every main character in that book seems breathtakingly alive, and their journey through the years isn’t whimsical or golden, but real and heartbreaking. Betty Smith is a startlingly honest writer and I appreciate that quality in an author.

