Who wrote this book and when?
H.G. Wells in 1896. It’s very old and surprisingly modern for 1896.

Has there been a film version?
Three of them. One in 1933, one in 1977 and a modernized version in 1996.

Who are the important characters?
Edward Prendick – a man shipwrecked and rescued only to be stranded on a terrifying island
Dr. Moreau – an expiremental scientist who works with vivisection and animals…if you get my drift
Montgomery – Dr. Moreau’s assistant

What’s it about?
Edward Prendick is on a ship overturned in the sea. He manages to get aboard a life boat and eventually is rescued by another boat. This one, however, contains a great many animals and a strange man named Montgomery. Prendick is exiled onto the same island Montgomery claims as his destination – the island where Dr. Moreau lives. Prendick is horrified to discover that all of the animals are bound to be vivisected by Moreau as he attempts to turn them human. And the island is populated by animal/human/hybirds who have suffered the same fate.

Why is this book a classic/bestseller?
I have no idea. Probably because of its statement about uncontrolled scientific expirementation and its consequences.

Do you recommend I read this book?
No.

Why did this book make your list?
Because it was by H.G. Wells and is revered as a classic.

Has it won any awards?
Nope.

Favorite Quotes:
“It was as if all the pain in the world had found a voice. Yet had I known such pain was in the next room, and had it been dumb, I believe – I have thought since – I could have stood it well enough. It is when suffering finds a voice and sets our nerves a quivering that this pity comes troubling us.” – p 24

Anything else?
Nope.

Personal thoughts:
Everything about this book repulsed me. I didn’t like any of the characters, all of them made me angry in some way or another. The ending was inevitable and anticlimactic. All the hype that has been made over this book through the years, all the parodies and references, had built it up to be way more than it actually is. So when I have actually read it, it’s a terrible disappointment. Ho hum.

