Who wrote this book and when?
Daniel Defoe published this novel in 1722.

Has there been a film version?
Four. In 1965 starring Kim Novak and Angela Lansbury, a BBC TV version in 1975 starring Julia Foster, a 1996 movie using only the names and none of the plot and starring Robin Wright Penn, and a 1996 PBS version starring Alex Kingston.

Who are the important characters?
The narrator “Moll Flanders” – who is quick to point out that isn’t her real name; a woman who uses her quick wit, ingenuity, and beauty to make her way through life

What’s it about?
Moll Flanders is the daughter of a deported convict. She is considered very beautiful and throughout her life, uses her beauty and wit to make her fortune. And she doesn’t let bigamy, prostitution, poverty, or even incest stand in her way.

Why is this book a classic/bestseller?
It’s noted for its cultural significance because it describes so accurately the ways of life in that century.

Do you recommend I read this book?
Hmmmm, I’m betting Robinson Crusoe is a better Defoe read. But this book IS pretty humorous at times.

Why did this book make your list?
It’s considered a classic.

Has it won any awards?
No. Too early a publication.

Favorite quotes:
“I used the utmost of my endeavour to persuade him, and joined that known woman’s rhetoric to it – I mean that of tears.” – p 266

Anything else?
Nope.

Personal thoughts:
OH nelly, was this a tough book to get through. I kept wanting to scream at Defoe…”would it hurt you to use section breaks or chapters?” But no, the entire thing is just paragraph of small print after paragraph. It is hard for me to read a book when I have to bring myself to just stop reading and put in a bookmark. I worry that I’ll miss something. And in this book, it’s a little tough to find where you left off. Overall, I did like this story. The narrator is pretty humorous and spunky, despite her many flaws. And you have to admit, her life was pretty exciting and adventurous…

