Who wrote this book and when?
The late, great Douglas Adams first wrote this book as a series of radio shows, but it was published into a book in 1979.

Has there been a film version?
Yes. Although it doesn’t follow exactly the plot of the book, it covers most of it loosely. It stars Zooey Deschanel, Mos Def, Martin Freeman, Sam Rockwell, Bill Nighy, and John Malkovich.

Who are the important characters?
Arthur Dent – a run of the mill earthling who happens to find himself homeless and accompanying a galaxy wide hitchhiker
Ford Prefect – the aforementioned hitchhiker, was trapped on Earth masquerading as a native for 15 years but is actually from a planet near Betelgeuse and works researching for The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy
Zaphod Beeblebrox – the president of the galaxy and current owner of the Heart of Gold
Trillian – formerly Tricia McMillan of Earth, now fellow traveler with Beeblebrox
Marvin the Paranoid Android – an intensely intelligent robot who is thoroughly depressed all the time
Slartibartfast – a Magrathean

What’s it about?
Arthur Dent has a very bad day. First his home is destroyed, then his home is destroyed. When Arthur is convinced to leave his house to the bulldozers to drink with his buddy Ford Prefect, he narrowly escapes being eradicated when a beaurocratic bunch of Vogons destroy Earth to make way for an intergalactic superhighway. Now Arthur is not only coping with that but adjusting to following Ford around and flying on a stolen spaceship of improbability with the current President of the Galaxy, a depressed android, and a former love interest. How bad can a guy’s day get? And he doesn’t even have a towel with him.

Why is this book a classic/bestseller?
It’s a Hugo Award nominee, but mostly because of its witty random humor and absurdity.

Do you recommend I read this book?
Why yes, I do.

How did this book make your list?
My husband loves it and recommended it to me.

Has it won any awards?
No, but it should have.

Favorite quotes:
“You just come along with me and have a good time. The Galaxy’s a fun place. You’ll need to have this fish in your ear.’ ‘I beg your pardon?’ asked Arthur, rather politely he thought. Ford was holding up a small glass jar which quite clearly had a small yellow fish wriggling around in it.” – p 50

“‘Look,’ said Arthur, ‘would it save you a lot of time if I just gave up and went mad now?'” – p 153

Personal thoughts:
I’ll admit it, this isn’t the first time I’ve read this book. But I do love it. And despite its discrepancies, I love the new movie version as well. However, I have not read the entire series, and it’s high time that problem was solved. This requires starting at the beginning to reacquaint myself with the plot and also just because I really enjoy reading it. Nowhere can you find such random humor and plot twists. I mean really…

