Who wrote this book and when?
Laurie Notaro wrote these short essays as a series of articles for the Arizona Republic in Phoenix, this first collection was published in 2002.

Has there been a film version?
No. Although it would be stinking hilarious.

Who are the important characters?
Laurie – the narrator, author, self proclaimed Idiot Girl
Jamie – Laurie’s best friend
Laurie’s mother – isn’t that self-explanatory
Pop Pop – Laurie’s grandfather
Nana – Laurie’s grandmother

What’s it about?
This is a group of essays from a woman every woman can relate to. These stories are plied from her 20’s, when she was still single, smoking, and drinking whenever possible. She brings together stories about humiliation in the dating arena, to real world etiquette in public bathrooms, and family get togethers.

Why is this book a classic/bestseller?
Because everyone can relate to it in some way, and it is absolutely hysterical.

Do you recommend I read this book?
Yes.

How did this book make your list?
My good friend Elle recommended the series to me and graciously let me borrow them. I haven’t been able to stop reading them.

Has it won any awards?
No. Which is lame.

Favorite quotes:
“So far, I had my doctor, her receptionist, and the urine girl gathered in front of my very visible biblical parts. That included two people who had no business being there in the first place, both of whom I was going to have to look in the face later when I paid for this brief visit to Magic Mortification Mountain.” – p 128

“Clowns, however, are a different story. They carry forces of the dark side with them, impenetrable by any act of retaliation. Pop a clown’s balloon, and he’ll only mutilate a bigger, nastier one. Lock him in the trunk of a car and he’ll multiply himself into six more clowns. Spit on a clown and he’ll only want to give you a hug. I hate clowns so much that I become immobile and hypnotized with fear as soon as I see one. I think all clowns should go to clown prison for all the very real damage they’ve done to America’s youth.” – p 112

Personal thoughts:
This book is incredibly, impossibly laugh-out-loud funny. Nearly every story had me looking at my husband and saying “you HAVE to hear this one!” Notaro takes things which nearly every woman deals with (even if you don’t smoke or drink excessively) and talks about them in a self-deprecating manner and leaves you nodding your head in agreement as tears stream down your face from the laughter. Her sarcasm is incredible and attains heights I could only dream of. Every aspect of her life provides something for her to write about, and much of this stuff, no one could make up. No one. I am heartily looking forward to reading the rest of the books in this series and to the new installment coming out in May.

