Who wrote this book and when?
Laurie Notaro published this in 2003.

Has there been a film version?
No, but like I said, that would sure be funny.

Who are the important characters?
Laurie Notaro – our heroine, an idiot girl of dynamic proportions
Mr. Nice/Incredible Eyes – her new man

What’s it about?
These pieces cover Notaro’s life as she finds a guy who will actually marry her, her wedding, and their adjustment into family life, complete with pets and small children. But this doesn’t stop her madcap adventures. Nope, she just sucks her husband right into them with her.

Why is this book a classic/bestseller?
Because it’s so dang funny.

Do you recommend I read this book?
Yes.

How did this book make your list?
My friend Elle recommended the first four to me and let me borrow hers. And I have duly recommended them to every one of my girl friends. (But don’t worry Elle, I didn’t let them borrow them…)

Has it won any awards?
No, which is lame.

Favorite quotes:
“I married my husband because he is the nicest man in the world, and I am the meanest girl, which I thought might bring me extra bargaining points with God after I died and was negotiating my release from becoming Mrs. Satan.” – p 227

Personal thoughts:
In this second book by Laurie Notaro, she hits her comedic stride. Every selection in this montage of moving into married life had me rolling in laughter. I could completely relate to her struggles with her mother concerning wedding planning and fighting off bridezilla when things started to come unglued. But I also appreciated that not every piece was wedding centric. Notaro also covered holidays (hysterical), new pets, trying to get a job, and the introduction of a child – her sister’s. Please. Read this book.

