Who wrote this book and when?
Laurie Notaro published this in 2004.
Book design by Jo Anne Metsch

Has there been a film version?
No, but that would be one dang funny film.

Who are the important characters?
Laurie Notaro – the author and narrator, a mean girl and comedian
Husband – Laurie’s husband, who is afraid of KFC
Lisa – Laurie’s sister
Nicholas – Laurie’s nephew

What’s it about?
Another batch of incredibly hilarious stories from the infamous mean girl Laurie Notaro’s life. This book includes her eventful and humiliating trip to Disneyland, her first experience with Diablo and The Sims, the time her grandmother was worried about the fate of television characters, and Laurie’s attempt to love everyone, no matter what.

Why is this book a classic/bestseller?
Because it is stinking hilarious.

Do you recommend I read this book?
If you enjoyed any of Laurie Notaro’s other works, yes – resoundingly yes.

How did this book make your list?
My friend Elle recommended them to me and let me borrow hers.

Has it won any awards?
No.

Favorite quotes:
“Now, I really need to point out that I am not indiscriminately mean; I am not mean to people whenever the mean mood strikes me. I feel that I must be provoked first, although my husband disagrees. In all honesty, I really wouldn’t even identify myself as a mean person; rather, I would classify myself as a Pointer-Outer of Extraordinary Acts of Incredible Foolishness and, on Occasion, Rudeness. Some people, including my husband, would call these experiences meltdowns, but I would rather consider them Opportunities to Enlighten.” – p 117

“My pants exploded,’ I said as I shook my head. ‘My pants just. . . detonated. They kind of . . . blew up.‘” – 172

Personal thoughts:
Once again, Laurie Notaro has me laughing so hard I’m keeping my husband awake at night. This collection includes stories from all facets of her life – from marriage, her not so cool job, from family life, and even vacation and friends and babies. And despite the fact that this book is one I couldn’t relate to most of the time (I’m not employed, have no kids, don’t really ever go on vacation and am not an author), I really enjoyed it. There isn’t much more to say about this one in praise that I haven’t spouted off about the previous books – except you must MUST read the story about her trip to Disneyland with her sister and nephew. I look at Disney employees in a whole new light now.

