Who wrote this book and when?
Douglas Adams in 1982.

Has there been a film version?
No. It was even rejected as a plotline for the TV series.

Who are the main characters?
Arthur Dent – a man from the late planet Earth who is still coming to terms with being a space hitchhiker
Ford Prefect – a space hitchhiker and Arthur’s friend
Slartibartfast – the award-winning designer of fjords and also on a mission to save the Universe
Trillian – a woman from the late planet Earth, she’s taking care of Zaphod
Zaphod Beeblebrox – the former president of the galaxy, now moping because he has no purpose

What’s it about?
This is mainly a book about time travel in an attempt to save the Universe from total destruction by a race of close-minded extra terrestrials from the planet Krikkit. These aliens have decided to destroy every other race in the Universe to have their sky clear again and have escaped from the time loop prison they were placed in. Now, they’re collecting all the parts to the open the portal to destruction and the only ones who have sense enough to try and stop them are Slartibartfast, Arthur Dent, and occasionally, Ford Prefect. The Universe is in…well, someone’s hands at least…

Why is this book a classic/bestseller?
It’s part of the HHGG series.

Do you recommend I read this book?
Yes.

How did this book make your list?
See the “classic/bestseller” question.

Has it won any awards?
No.

Favorite quotes:
“Arthur’s consciousness approached his body as from a great distance, and reluctantly. It had had some bad times in there. Slowly, nervously, it entered and settled down into its accustomed position.” – p 23

Personal thoughts:
I think this book would have been better for me if I actually understood cricket. The game, I mean. There were so many subtle references and jokes to cricket, I felt I was missing out on half the humor of the novel. But of course, being American puts me at a disadvantage. However, there still were some exceedingly funny parts. I loved that Arthur learned to fly simply by falling and forgetting to hit the ground. And Adams wow-ed me with the creature killed over and over by Dent who wants revenge. But my favorite part of this novel was the return of Slartibartfast. Ever since the big screen made a swipe at telling this story, I’ve thought of Slartibartfast as Bill Nighy – who is a hilarious actor. So picturing Nighy in a bistro comprised of mathematical probabilities and equations was delightful.

I know I said the plot would dissipate more, but this book proves me wrong. The random factor was still there, of course, but I’m not sure if it was toned down or if I am simply growing used to it. Nevertheless, this installment in the series had more of a plot than the previous ones.

