Who wrote this book and when?
Jim Butcher published this book in 2002.

Has there been a film version?

Who are the main characters?
Harry Dresden – a wizard for hire, who happens to have a bit of a shady past and a shadier reputation
Billy – a werewolf and leader of the Alphas; a group of young adult werewolves
Mab – one of the Queens of the Winter Court of Faerie
Elaine – a woman of questionable character from Harry’s past
Murphy – a member of the Chicago PD, one of Harry’s truest friends
Maeve – the Lady Queen of the Winter Court
Meryl – a changeling teen who has hired Harry to find her friend
The Winter Knight – a psychotic human given powers by the Winter Court to do their bidding
Aurora – the Lady Queen of the Summer Court

What’s it about?
Harry Dresden still hasn’t gotten over the changes in his life due to the war with the Red Court of Vampires. Now, he’s up for trial for his very life and failure could mean the White Council of Wizards handing him over to the vamps to do what they wish. Not to mention, he’s been forced into working for Queen Mab, the most frightening of the Faerie Queens. To get out of the trouble he’s found himself in, Harry must find out who murdered the Summer Knight – Queen Aurora’s right hand man, and has thrown off the balance of power in the Nevernever. If he can’t do it in time, it won’t only mean the end of his life, but the end of humanity.

Why is this book a classic/bestseller?
It’s part of a great fantasy series.

Do you recommend I read this book?
Yes, but I do recommend starting with the first book in the series, “Storm Front.”

How did this book make your list?
My husband introduced to me to both the TV series and the book series.

Has it won any awards?

Favorite quotes:
“I could feel Mab watching me. Sylvester to my Tweetie Bird. That thought kind of cheered me up. Generally speaking, Tweetie kicks Sylvester’s ass in the end.” – p 30

Personal thoughts:
When you get to the fourth book in a series you enjoy, you start running out of things to say that don’t sound the same as every other book in the series. This book is just as wonderful as the previous three in the series. It focuses on the faerie courts and spends much more time in the Nevernever, as opposed to the past three novels which mainly took place in our “dimension.” Butcher does a good job filling us in on a few of the differences between real Chicago and Nevernever; and the differences between faeries and humans, no matter how much alike they look. This was a great read, just for the descriptions. Butcher found a heck of a lot of creative ways to describe beauty while still emphasizing the fact that faeries are scary and for the most part, evil. He also brought interesting twists into the idea of changeling children. And Toot-toot has to be one of my favorite B characters in this entire series.