A few random notes on our lives lately…

My sister, Kate, is moving to Portland tomorrow to go to school. I am being picked up by Sharebear at 7:30 am to go pick up the U-Haul and then load up and head out. I will hopefully get the chance to spend some time with one of my best friends, Dookie, and help Kate get settled into her new place. This is the second time Kate has moved at least 4 hours away to try and establish her independence. Hopefully, it’ll stick better than Seattle. Not that I want her to leave but I’m sure she’d like to feel like she can manage on her own.

We are also in the process of buying a car. Pablito the Taurus which was so kindly given to us for free by a lady in our church, is slowly succumbing to the burdens of old age. Saturday night, while returning from my parents’ birthday party, both the radiator and the engine started emitting steam and smoke, respectively. After we filled up the radiator with water and the engine with oil, the turn signals and emergency flashers failed. Some car-savvy friends of ours have theorized that our torque converter is going out/has gone out. This on top of the transmission dying and the speedometer failing. But it still works enough for Jason to get back and forth to work (we only live two or three miles away). So we are going to purchase my brother’s 1999 Honda Accord. We’ve been approved for our loan and simply need to finish signing all the paperwork with him. Which will, in theory, happen on Monday after I go to Portland and the weekend. So … yay!

I am also getting set up to open up an Etsy shop. I figure with all the knitting I do I might as well make a profit off of my hobby. Or try to. Once that finally gets rolling, I will let you know when items are up for sale. (Thea – if you have not checked out Etsy, you simply must…)

And I promise, sometime soon I will post some photos from our wakeboarding/camping vacation the last two weeks on and off…

