Who wrote this book and when?
L.M. Montgomery had this published in 1917.

Has there been a film version?
No, although I dearly wish they would make one, this book is one of my favorites of the series.

Who are the important characters?
Anne Blythe – the former Anne Shirley, now married to her childhood sweetheart and living in Four Winds
Gilbert Blythe – Anne’s husband, now a doctor
Leslie Moore – an astoundingly beautiful woman with a tragic life
Captain Jim – the elderly lighthouse keeper
Miss Cornelia – the town’s resident man-hater with a heart of gold
Owen Ford – a newspaper man who boards with Leslie
Susan Baker – the Blythe’s housekeeper
Dick Moore – Leslie’s husband

What’s it about?
Anne and Gilbert have married and are now moving to their first house – a darling little cottage by the sea in the town called Four Winds. The Blythes meet a slew of interesting people, including the witty Miss Cornelia, the kindred spirit Captain Jim, and the desperately tragic Leslie. Anne attempts to befriend Leslie, but because of her own personal happiness, Leslie pushes her away. It’s only when tragedy visits the Blythe’s House of Dreams that Anne learns the full value of Leslie’s friendship.

Why is this book a classic/bestseller?
It’s part of a classic children’s series.

Do I recommend you read this book?
Yes, most highly.

How did this book make my list?
I love this entire series.

Has it won any awards?

Favorite quotes:
“Ebenezer Milgrave, used to be insane for years. He believed he was dead and used to rage at his wife because she wouldn’t bury him. I’d a-done it.” – p 45

“The woods are human, but the sea is of the company of the archangels.” – p 55

Anything else?

Personal thoughts:
I feel this is the book where the wonderful Anne Shirley actually leaves us and Anne grows up. Not just because she gets married but because of the way that real life comes to meet her with all its pain and reality. Leslie is my favorite friend of Anne’s because she is so flawed. Before this, most of Anne’s friends had little troubles that were mainly just a big deal to them in the scope of things. Every character in this book is a jewel – from Captain Jim to Marshall Elliott. And this is the first book in a few that we actually get a linear storyline instead of a series of short stories or a grouping of letters…I like this a lot better.