Who wrote this book and when?
Beverly Lewis published this in 2006.

Has there been a film version?
Nope.

Who are the important characters?
Annie Zook – an Amish woman torn between her art and her Plain lifestyle
Louisa Stratford – a “fancy” woman who has come to live with the Zook family to re-evaluate her life and values
Esther Hochstetler – a young woman married to an abusive husband
Ezekiel “Zeke” Hochstetler – Esther’s husband, still struggling with guilt issues over his younger brother’s disappearance almost 20 years ago
Jesse Zook – a preacher for the Amish, Annie’s father
Yonie Zook – Annie’s brother, considering leaving the Amish
Ben Martin – an outsider who is wooing Annie
The Ranck’s – a Mennonite family providing sanctuary for Esther

What’s it about?
Annie has promised her father to swear off of painting for at least six months in preparation for her baptism class and joining of the Amish church. But now she has a new temptation away from the Amish – a handsome and kind young man named Ben Martin who is courting her. As Annie grows closer to Ben, she does more and more to hide from her family. Meanwhile, Louisa is finding her friends and former fiance won’t let her leave her old life behind as easily as she’d like. And Zeke and Esther might lose their marriage as Zeke becomes more violent while trying to deal with his guilty conscience.

Why is this book a classic/bestseller?
It’s part of Beverly Lewis’ collection, she’s a great Christian author.

Do I recommend you read this book?
If you enjoyed the first one.

How did this book make my list?
I liked the first book in this series.

Has it won any awards?
No.

Favorite quotes:

Anything else?
I don’t think I could be an Amish wife…sorry.

Personal thoughts:
I completely blasted through this book. Unfortunately when I do this, I remember very little except the basic plot. I did get frustrated because I figured out the big “surprise” of the series at the end of the first book – I think maybe that was intentional, but still… The only thing left for the last book in this series is whether or not everyone ends up Amish or not. However, I think the storyline of Esther and Zeke is interesting mainly because I would never think of an Amish husband being abusive – yet when I consider it, it doesn’t seem that out of the question.
Anyway, on to the next…right?

