iamamericaWho wrote this book and when?
Stephen Colbert published this last month.

Has there been a film version?
Oh, Lord, I hope not. However, it’s the same “Character” he plays on “The Colbert Report.”

Who are the important characters?
Stephen Colbert – the narrator, author, etcetera
America – apparently, Stephen Colbert
Reader – you.

What’s it about?
It’s pretty much just Colbert’s (of the Colbert Report) opinions on everything from animals to media to higher education.

Why is this book a classic/bestseller?
I don’t think it’s been out long enough to classify it as either one.

Do I recommend you read this book?
If you like The Colbert Report, you’ll definitely like this book.

How did this book make my list?
I wanted to read it before my husband, to be honest.

Has it won any awards?
The Stephen T. Colbert Award for Literary Excellence. (Stickers for which you can find in the book to place on your own favorite titles.)

Favorite quotes:
“The more you know, the sadder you get.” – p 120

“Then there are nursery rhymes. What’s a cuter image than three little kittens that have lost their mittens? Well, brace yourself. Kittens don’t wear mittens. I’m going to let that sink in. And why don’t they wear mittens? Because they’d just get caught on their razor-sharp claws. Personally, I prefer the Three Blind Mice, because 1) they’re already handicapped when the song starts – as a result, no doubt, of some anti-human scheme that blew up in their faces, and 2) their further maimed in the course of the rhyme. (Stay strong, Farmer’s Wife!) – p 34

Anything else?
It’s so strange to read this book knowing Colbert is a devout Catholic and Sunday school teacher. I wonder if he ever lets his kids watch his tv show.

Personal thoughts:
I don’t much care for either The Daily Show or The Colbert Report. I’ll admit they’re funny at times, but mostly they make me uncomfortable with their continuous mocking of everything and everyone. I was raised with a ton of sarcasm in my life, but it was highly tempered with a need to respect authority because God put em there. If, however, you like The Colbert Report, then you will love this book. It’s exactly the same as the show, with Colbert’s character shining through every sentence. His voice is captured perfectly in the text, complete with “The Word” playing in the sidenotes throughout the whole book. Not really my cup of coffee, but good for a few 10 minute reads and chuckles for a week or so…

