nanny_diaries_coverWho wrote this book and when?
Emma McLaughlin and Nicola Kraus published this book in 2002.

Has there been a film version?
Yes, starring Scarlett Johansson and Laura Linney. I’m pretty sure it’s a little different from the book, however.

Who are the important characters?
Nan – the narrator and nanny
Mrs. X – her boss, a self-absorbed rich trophy wife
Grayer X – Nan’s little charge, a boy who wants to be loved by his parents but is used to being passed from caregiver to caregiver
H.H. – the good-looking Harvard student Nan finds herself attracted to
Ms. Chicago – the woman Mr. X is having an affair with

What’s it about?
It tells the story of Nan’s job for the X’s, a very wealthy New York family with one son. Nan finds herself becoming less and less a simple nanny and more and more the gopher for Mrs. X, the secret keeper for Mr. X, and both mom and dad to Grayer.

Why is this book a classic/bestseller?
It’s a bestseller because it’s supposed to fit in with the rest of the Bridget Jones/Shopoholic chick literature genre.

Do I recommend you read this book?
No.

How did this book make my list?
I’m not exactly sure.

Has it won any awards?
Nope. It did hit number 1 on the New York Times Bestseller List, though.

Favorite quotes:
Sorry, nothing.

Anything else?

Personal thoughts:

I went into this novel a tad bit excited. I needed kind of a chick lit break, and have heard great things about the humor in this novel. I was vastly disappointed. Instead of being funny, the narrator comes off as bitter. I wasn’t humored by her situation, only saddened. When she was making fun of the upper class I was just feeling sorry for them. It’s horrible that people actually treat their children this way and it made me feel horrible for being obligated to think it was funny. The entire love story was a little muddled and seemed randomly tossed in for the sake of keeping the attention of the chick lit-ers, but it all ended very suddenly and with no real resolution. Like I said, I was disappointed.

