irregularverbsWho wrote this book and when?
Alexander McCall Smith published this in 2003.

Has there been a film version?
Nope.

Who are the important characters?
Professor Dr. Moritz-Maria Von Igelfield – the author of “Portuguese Irregular Verbs,” a proud German professor
Dr. Dr. Florianus Prinzel – one of Dr. Von Igelfield’s colleagues and friends
Dr. Detlev Amadeus Unterholzer – another colleague, slightly less distinguished

What’s it about?
It tells the stories of Dr. Von Igelfield’s early life and how he met his two best friends, Dr. Prinzel and Dr. Unterholzer. The three of them engage in many mishaps all over Europe and beyond; including learning tennis, attending language conferences, and falling in love with dentists.

Why is this book a classic/bestseller?
It’s written by the same guy who wrote “The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency” and those were bestsellers, so these have captured some of that popularity.

Do I recommend you read this book?
Yes. If you liked Amelia Bedelia when you were little, or the wackiness of Roald Dahl. And, of course, if you like McCall Smith’s other series.

How did this book make my list?
I wanted to try out the author and read a small book, this fits both bills.

Has it won any awards?
I don’t think so.

Anything else?
Because of this book, I picked up the first book in McCall Smith’s other series.

Personal thoughts:
When I grabbed this book off the shelf, I figured it’d be a quick read. I was wrong – the chapters are entertaining but full of so much life I could only read one or two at a time. Some of them had me exasperated beyond almost any book I’ve ever read, and some had me laughing hysterically and begging my husband to let me read them out loud to him. Dr. Von Igelfield is the perfectly rounded bumbler – he is completely self-centered, but so terribly naieve that it almost makes up for it. He means so well, but just fails so spectacularly. I’ll be looking for the next book in this series tonight at the library.

