princessdiariesWho wrote this book and when?
Meg Cabot published this in 2000.

Has there been a film version?
Yes, starring Anne Hathaway and Julie Andrews. The movie is different from the book, surprise, surprise.

Who are the important characters?
Amelia “Mia” Thermopolis – a 14 year old socially awkward girl who finds out she’s a princess
Lilly – Mia’s liberal best friend
Prince Phillipe Renaldo – Mia’s father, the prince of Genovia
Grandmere Clarisse Renaldo – Mia’s frightening grandmother, the Dowager Princess of Genovia
Mr. Gianini – Mia’s algebra teacher and her mother’s boyfriend
Helen Thermopolis – Mia’s mother, a free spirited artist
Lars – Mia’s bodyguard
Josh Ritcher – the most popular boy at Mia’s school
Michael – Lilly’s brother, Mia’s friend
Lana Weinberger – the most popular girl in school, a cheerleader

What’s it about?
Mia Thermopolis is having enough trouble dealing with her adolescent life. Now, her mother is dating her algebra teacher, she just might have a crush on her best friend’s brother, and oh yeah – she’s also the princess of Genovia. Now, Mia is trying to hide her new true identity from everyone in New York while balancing after school algebra tutoring with princess lessons from her anal grandmother.

Why is this book a bestseller/classic?
It’s funny and witty, and also plays on every little girl’s dream that she’s actually a princess.

Do I recommend you read this book?
Yes, if you’re a girl.

How did this book make my list?
I’ve considered reading it since the movie came out, so I finally checked it out of the library since most of the other books I wanted were already checked out.

Has it won any awards?
No.

Favorite quotes:
Erm….I don’t have any.

Anything else?
There are ten books in this series.

Personal thoughts:
I was surprised at how significantly different the books are from the movies.  Even so, the dry humor and over-the-top teenage angst played for laughs were just as enjoyable.  I forgot what it was like to be 14 (not that I wanted to be reminded) but Mia still keeps you smiling as she freaks out over everything.  I never had to deal with my mom dating a teacher, or being a princess, so I guess she has a right to overexcite herself a bit.  These books are funny.  The only complaint I have is so very minor.  It’s quite obvious that Cabot meant for this to become a series and a long one.  The plot is so slow and drawn out that you get very little resolution by the end of the first book.  Which is frustrating to me until I realize I did get this book from the young adult section.

