I got home from the South last night around 10 pm and am now slogging through the requisite readjustment period. I feel slightly panicky that I have not looked at our bank account in almost 2 weeks (not because Jason is bad at budgeting or being frugal, but because I am very anal about knowing where every cent of our money goes). I also have a mountain of laundry to do that feels all damp from the Georgia humidity and smells of cigarettes, dogs, barbecue, rain, and sand. Plus it’s wrinkly from the plane ride home. Most of my souvenirs are unpacked and put away, with the exception of Daja’s, since I have not seen her in the past 12 hours to give it to her. I’m going to try and post about each of my days away, since I did something fun and or exciting on each of them…and have a lot of pictures. So bear with me…this could take a while…or not even get finished.

Georgia Tomato

We flew out of Pasco at 5:30 am on April 3rd, and had about 10 minutes to get from our arrival gate at SLC to our connecting flight – which of course was two concourses away. Needless to say, we busted butt to get there just in time for final boarding call. Then it was a four hour flight eastward. We landed in Atlanta around 2:30 ish (Eastern Time) and caught a taxi to pick up our rental car. Then we drove down to Forsyth, Ga – where my Aunt Elaine lives. She had to head off to work but took us to eat at a restaurant named “Big Chick,” which was a fast food joint with almost everything fried. Then my mom and I headed back to her house and my aunt headed to work. The rest of the night was fairly uneventful, with the exception of my mother allowing a bird to fly in the house and spending an hour and a half trying to catch it, including having to call my aunt home from work to help us corner it.

