We woke up around 10 am (Georgia time – 7 am Pacific time) and kind of mulled around a bit, waiting to see if my aunt would be willing to sacrifice any sleep to hang out with us before 3 pm. After showering and dressing and waiting for a few hours, we decided to just venture out on our own and since my mom was driving, “we” decided to search for some quilting shops. Now…Forsyth is not that big a town…and since they live in a much warmer and more humid climate than we do, there were very few fabric shops, not to mention quilt shops. We found one tiny little out-of-the-way store who did mostly embroidering but also carried quilts. My mom spent about 45 minutes with the shop owner bemoaning the loss of this wonderful pasttime and the fact that there were no quilting specific shops in Forsyth, Macon, or anywhere closer than Atlanta. So my mom figured we could settle for the next best thing. Yarn shops. Let me tell you, I was down with that.

I’d compiled a list of shops in the general area of Macon and Atlanta, not knowing when or where we were going to be able to look at yarn. For those of you who have not met my mom, let me fill you in on something. She is a very very nervous driver. She has no sense of direction and relies completely on her GPS – which she often thinks is sassing her. I’m not making this up. After driving to Macon and almost further south than we wanted past Macon, we realized the GPS was leading us to a store that was no longer in business. I had a little moment when I saw the first Starbucks I’d seen outside the Atlanta airport. We stopped, obviously. Then punched in the next yarn store address and found we were a block away. It was the perfect set up for Amanda and Chad:

Yarn and Ammo

Seriously. We spent an hour inside the enormous shop, that carried everything from spinning wheels to baby sweaters. I dropped $90 on yarn – the entirety of my yarn budget – and came away with six skeins of yarn. Two alpacas (one chunky, one worsted), some superwash sock yarn in fiery red and orange, some uber soft cotton blends for another pair of socks, and a random skein of yarn that – when I looked at it at home – I don’t remember picking up, much less buying. *shrug* I also picked up a set of size 1 Koa needles in a carrying case which are tiny tiny!

Pig in a Pit - Pulled Pork

We took a roundabout route back to my aunt’s – who was upset since we had to leave for my cousin’s baseball game at 4:30 and it was already 4:00. We also stopped on the way back for our first meal of the day that wasn’t from Starbucks. A lovely little barbecue joint called “Pig in a Pit.” My first barbecue in the South…and unfortunately, the best I had while I was down there. It was very nearly close to meat heaven. I had a pulled pork sandwich slathered in sauce with some lovely potato salad. Then we booked it back and waited for my cousin, Jason, to get home from work so we could go to Thomas’s baseball game. This is where the tornadoes came in.

Jason\'s Ring Pop

^That’s my cousin, Jason, eating a ring pop. The sky was a little dark when we pulled in and there was a slight general murmur along the lines of “hope we don’t get soaked” among the crowd of parents and siblings at the ballpark. We sat through two innings, and managed to inadvertantly delete half my sister’s pictures off the memory card she left in my mom’s digital camera, when the phone rang. It was my dad letting us know there were tornado sightings half an hour south of us. A few minutes later, lightning appeared, which is an automatic end to any little league game.

Jason\'s Dark Skies

Then word got round that tornadoes were nearby and there was a mass exodus from the ballpark. Instead of heading home, like any sane people would, we went to Cracker Barrel for dinner with my Aunt, cousins, “little” cousins – Thomas, Peyton, and Griffin. There was horizontal rain and some wicked lightning while we ate our ham, okra, cornbread, salads, biscuits, potatoes, and turnips. But no tornadoes nearby, so we were safe.

