I have been a bit remiss in the actual personal writing aspect of this blog – mainly relying on memes and book reviews to keep it afloat.  Here’s an attempt at remedial blogging…

We just returned from a week away from the house and now I’m engaged in the tediousity that follows any vacation or vacation-esque trip;  mountains of laundry, attention-starved animals, piles of mail to sort through, lots of picking up of knocked over items as our cats expressed their dismay while we were gone, you get the idea.  Jason had a work training opportunity for a Microsoft program called Sharepoint (I think…keep in mind I don’t work there or know much about computers unless they’re macs).  We were put up in a four star hotel in downtown Seattle for five days and while he spent almost eight hours a day in class, I tried to entertain myself with no money and a strict instructions from one of my doctors not to strain my heart.  (More on that later).  May I remind you that downtown Seattle is one big hill.  Our hotel was at the top of that hill – no matter which direction you set out upon from our hotel, unless you walked into the freeway, you would have to walk uphill on your way back.

I spent the majority of the mornings sleeping in a bit, watching the television and surfing the internet searching for places to eat lunch and dinner.  After meeting Jason for lunch somewhere, I would camp out in the Union Square One building of the Seattle Convention Center and read or play DS and generally enjoy their variety of lounge areas.

We didn’t do much sight-seeing, only walking down to the pier once and visiting Pike’s Place Market briefly before they closed one evening.  But we did get well-acquainted with the area holding the very expensive clothing stores, such as Louis Vuitton and Brooks’ Brothers.  Window shopping is not as fun as you might think.

After four days, we met up with Jason’s mom and sister, as Amy was getting registered for the fall semester at SPU.  We hit up IKEA just in time for their twice-a-year sale, and it’s a good thing we only had two small cars or there would have been a lot more money spent when it should not have been.  We spent the weekend with Jason’s family, playing Guitar Hero 3, and going to see “Get Smart” (very funny).  After church yesterday, we drove the four hours home and crashed.

Now, I have told myself that some painting WILL get done this week…and decided I’m going to attempt to paint the office, since it is the smallest room we need to paint and the longer I sit in it without painting, the more guilty I feel.  This is also probably a doctor-approved activity, and after walking at least 20+ blocks, more than half uphill, everyday for a week – I am a bit restless.  Though exhausted.

For those of you in the dark, my recent cardiologists’ appointment didn’t go quite as well as I have become accustomed to.  There have been some rhythm problems lately, which I noticed, but chalked up to stress.  Apparently…they aren’t from that.  They are the same type of rhythm abnormalities that caused Tim Russert’s sudden death.  While obviously mine aren’t as pronounced as his, the words “sudden death” coming out of your cardiologist’s mouth when he’s talking about you is always a highly disconcerting thing.  So I’m having some tests done the third week of July, and possibly some more tests after that, and possibly some surgery after those tests, and possibly open-heart surgery sometime in the fall if things hit worst-case-scenario.  I was instructed to not strain my heart too much, but to get it going once a day.  Not hard in my case since I need only walk the two and a half blocks to get the mail when it’s 80+ degrees outside and my heart gets a little enraged at the extreme heat.

This among other things have been keeping me a bit preoccupied for the past few weeks.  Still unpacking a bit and settling into the new place is also a big part of it.  I can’t decide on a color scheme for our living/dining/kitchen room area, which is frustrating when you’re trying to paint and buy things at IKEA for your new place.  Not that it’s a life-or-death situation, but when you already have one or two of those on your hands, it’s a lot less stressful to focus on the things that aren’t that important.  I think they call it denial…or something.

