Who wrote this book and when?
Fannie Flagg published this in 1981.

Has there been a film version?
No.

Who are the important characters?
Daisy Fay – an energetic and witty girl growing up in Mississippi in 1952
Daddy – Daisy’s father, a man who has hare-brained schemes and a drinking problem
Momma – Daisy’s down-to-earth but abusive mother
Jimmy Snow – Daddy’s best friend, a crop-duster
Michael – Daisy’s best friend
Pickle Watson – Daisy’s other best friend
Kay Bob Benson – Daisy’s archnemesis
Mrs. Dot – the woman who runs the Jr. Debutantes club, a bit loopy
Claude Pistal – a violent man who has it out for Daisy

What’s it about?
These are the diary entries of Miss Daisy Fay Harper. She begins when she’s 11 and we follow her as she moves with her parents to Shell Beach, Mississippi when her father opens a malt shop. As she grows, we see that Daisy’s life is tough, but full of interesting and often hilarious incidents. She becomes entangled with the murdering Claude Pistal, does her best to ruin Kay Bob Benson’s life, and even dies and is resurrected.

Do I recommend you read this book?
Yes, it’s funny. It’s not a must-read-before-you-die kind of book, but something you can pick up and put down easily during the summer.

How did this book make my list?
I liked “Fried Green Tomatoes” and “Standing in the Rainbow,” both by Flagg.

Has it won any awards?
No.

Favorite quotes:
“I am a second-year Brownie. I got a first-aid badge that really comes in handy. One time after school, Jimmy Lee got hit by a car and was bleeding all over the place. I remembered what to do. I sat down and put my head between my knees to keep from fainting.” – p 28

“Daddy always told me that Christians were dangerous and I believed him, so I picked up my choir robe and started running.” – p 180

Anything else?
This book was formerly titled “Coming Attractions.” I don’t know why the title was changed.

Personal thoughts:
This book was definitely not as good as the previous books I’ve read by Flagg. This is not to say it wasn’t good. Daisy is an irreverent version of Scout, seeing everything through skewed childhood eyes. She loves her Daddy and Momma without reserve, although they throw her life into turmoil every other day. Flagg is able to keep the humor in the story while introducing serious issues like abuse, alcohol addiction, adultery, murder, insanity, death. As usual her characters drive the story, with no real plot to speak of other than their journey to maturity.

