Who wrote this book and when?
Joanne Fluke published this book in 2002.

Has there been a film version?
No, I don’t think so.

Who are the important characters?
Hannah Swenson – a bakery owner in Minnesota, finds herself around a lot of murders
Connie Mac – America’s Cooking Sweetheart, pretty much a fictionalized Martha Stewart
Andrea – Hannah’s sister
Norman – a photographer interested romantically in Hannah
Janie – an old school friend of Hannah’s, now working for Connie Mac
Mike – a deputy, also interested in Hannah romantically

What’s it about?
Hannah Swenson is known throughout town for her wonderful treats that fill her bakery. Unfortunately, she’s also known for finding dead bodies. This time is no exception. When her small town sets up a Winter Festival, they manage to snag American icon Connie Mac to do their festival cake and attend some of the activities. Then Connie Mac turns up bludgeoned to death in Hannah’s own bakery. Now Hannah is once again swept away in a flurry of events as she tries to secretly solve Connie Mac’s murder. Things are complicated when one of her best friends is implicated in the murder, a man she’s dating is listed as one of the suspects, and another love interest is an officer working on the case.

Do I recommend you read this book?
Eh. If you’re a huge mystery fan you might want to read these. Or, if you’re a big cook and sometimes enjoy an occasional mystery (that’s where I fit in) you might enjoy wasting a few hours reading this.

How did this book make my list?
It was recommended to me by my facebook reading application.

Has it won any awards?
No.

Favorite quotes:
I have nothing. I did however, try some of the recipes listed in the book.

Personal thoughts:
I’m sure you’ve heard me before state that I am not a huge mystery fan. This is still true; it takes one heck of a mystery to get a glowing review from me. This book doesn’t really fit that bill. The character of Hannah is interesting and at times amusing, but she isn’t anything special – more the stereotypical chick lit heroine you could pull out of any women-focused mystery series. The thing which sets this series apart are the recipes from the story included in the pages of the novel between certain chapters. I tried two of them: one was a decadent success and the other an abysmal, stomach churning failure. Overall – if you love mysteries of any sort, you may want to try this series (this isn’t the first one in the series – take note). `

