Who wrote this book and when?
Aldous Huxley published this in 1932 – a lot older than you thought, eh?

Has there been a film version?
Several.

Who are the important characters?
Bernard Marx – an Alpha plus male, also a psychologist, stunted in appearance for his class
Lenina Crowne – a Beta minus female, works at the hatchery, hooks up with Bernard for a bit
John Savage – a man with parents from the new world but has been raised on a reservation w/o technology
Mustapha Mond – an Alpha Plus male, head of Europe
Helmholtz Watson – an Alpha Plus male, head of writing college
Thomas – an Alpha male, head of the Hatcheries and Conditioning center

What’s it about?
For the first third of the book, we travel with various members of the society of Europe – getting to know how it is managed, how it works, its purpose. When two members travel to a reservation to gawk at those who have chosen not to live in the new society, they meet up with a man who is obviously birthed from parents of Europe and desires to return to the society he never has seen but feels he must fit into. His name is John the Savage – or John Savage. And the new world is not quite what he expected it to be.

Do I recommend you read this book?
Yes – this is the least jarring of any dystopian novel I’ve encountered and therefore – my favorite.

Why did this book make my list?
I had to read it in high school, initially. But I enjoyed it so much that I wanted to reread it.

Has it won any awards?
I don’t think so – I’m fairly certain it predates most literary awards.

Favorite quotes:
Once I can find where I marked down the quotes I liked…I’ll add them – sorry!

Anything else?
This book was originally intended as a parody of an H.G. Wells utopian novel.

Personal thoughts:
To be honest, I think that if we ever had a dystopian society evolve on Earth – this would be more similar than any other novel I’ve read. The government would sure control us, but in a way we didn’t mind or weren’t even aware of. The U.S. has spread the idealistic concept of democracy too far for humanity to allow something like 1984 to happen – even the constant appeal to fear and patriotism wouldn’t be tolerated as much as a lot of writers assume. There are always resistance fighters and eventually people would get fed up. Maybe I’ve just watched too many “the ultimate power of the human spirit, indomitable and never hopeless” movies, but that’s the way I look at it – take it or leave it.

