Who wrote this book and when?
J.D. Salinger published the first chapter in the New Yorker in 1955, the second in 1957. The two were combined in book form for the first time in 1961.

Has there been a film version?
I don’t believe so.

Who are the important characters?
Franny – the youngest daughter of the brilliant Glass children, in her 20’s
Zooey – the youngest son of the Glass family, also in his 20’s, an actor and terribly good looking
Buddy – the narrator, of sorts, one of the eldest Glass children
Lane – Franny’s boyfriend
Bessie – the Glass mother
Seymour – the eldest Glass, committed suicide

What’s it about?
The two chapters cover the course of a few days in the lives of Franny and Zooey Glass. Franny is searching for spiritual enlightenment and Zooey is trying to relate to her.

Do I recommend you read this book?
Yes – it’s lovely.

How did this book make my list?
Despite the fact I hated “Catcher in the Rye,” I was persuaded to give Salinger another chance by Thea’s glowing reviews of this book.

Has it won any awards?
Ummm, I don’t know? I don’t think so.

Favorite quotes:
“I got the idea in my head – and I could not get it out – that college was just one more dopey, inane place in the world dedicated to piling up treasure on earth and everything. I mean treasure is treasure, for heaven’s sake. What’s the difference whether the treasure is money, or property, or even culture, or even plain knowledge? It all seemed like exactly the same thing to me, if you take off the wrapping – and it still does! Sometimes I think that knowledge – when it’s knowledge for knowledge’s sake, anyway – is the worst of all.” – p 145

Anything else?
This is part of a series of short stories about the Glass family.

Personal thoughts:
Thea was correct, I did enjoy this book quite a bit more than my other dip into Salinger. Franny and Zooey were a bit more endearing than Holden. While I didn’t always understand what they were going on about , I still enjoyed their interactions with others – they were humorous and serious at the same time. And I was continuously struck – especially during Zooey – how much this read like a play. I could picture everything as it would have appeared on a stage (possibly because of my recent plunge back into drama) and I kept thinking “this would be a lovely, lovely dramatic production.”

