This is something I’ve been intending to join for some time now, and since my domestic duties have been drastically reduced for this week out of necessity (or something) this feels like the perfect week.  Many of my friends for some reason are deluded enough to think I am a good cook.  This is not true.  I’m just a good directions follower.  So I’ll be sharing some of my recipes each week, along with the source (if I can remember where I got them).  And if I can remember to do it each Monday.  Which I obviously didn’t this week.

Monday:  Out for pizza (due to the necessary errands after Jason gets off work and the low energy levels)

Tuesday:  Rotisserie chicken, canned green beans, baked sweet potatoes

Wednesday:  Savory Crescent Chicken Squares, salad

Thursday: Slow cooker ribs, potato chips, salad

Friday: Italian porkchops, couscous, applesauce

Most of my recipes I’ll be showing here are ones I’ve never tried before, so no guarantees! I’m also not sure where I picked this one up, I *think* out of a magazine from my mother but I’m unclear as to which one.

Savory Crescent Chicken Squares

Ingredients:

3 oz softened cream cheese

2 cups cubed cooked chicken (I will be using leftover chicken from the rotisserie)

3 Tablespoons margarine or butter, melted

1/4 tsp salt

1/8 tsp pepper

2 Tablespoons milk

1 Tablespoon chopped chives OR onion

1 8 oz can Pillsbury (or generic) crescent rolls

3/4 cup seasoned croutons, crushed

1)  Heat oven to 350 F.  In a medium bowl, blend cream cheese and 2 tablespoons of the margarine/butter until smooth.  Add chicken, salt, pepper, milk, and chives/onions.  Mix well.

2) Separate the dough into 4 rectangles; firmly press perforations around edges together to seal.  Spoon 1/2 cup meat mixture onto center of each rectangle.

3) Pull 4 corners of dough to top center of chicken mixture, twist slightly and seal edges.  Place on ungreased baking sheet.  Brush tops with reserved Tb margarine/butter, sprinkle with crouton crumbs.

4) Bake @ 350 for 20-25 minutes or until golden brown.

Stay tuned for posts later this week…an update on my heart and fill-in on the insanity of last weekend, plus hopefully a review of the second book in the Inheritance Series – Eldest.

