Similar to many other bloggers this week, I’ve been reading through the past year’s blogs to try and prepare myself for 2009 by re-living the circumstances of 2008.  There are a lot of different versions of these “synopses” out there, but I’m just going to use this as our “Christmas/New Year” letter to update everyone on what’s gone down in our household.  Which, now that I think about it, feels a bit repetitive because if you read this, then you’ve possibly been reading this blog the entire time and already know all of this.

January – we spent New Year’s with our friends, the Leonard girls, and then drove home on January 2nd.  There was our annual Top Ten Movies list posted.  We had a slew of doctors appointments, mostly with good news, and Jason celebrated his 26th birthday by going to see “Cloverfield.”  Which scared the crap out of me.  Our apartment manager dropped the news on us that our rent was going up possibly $175 a month, which sufficiently angered us enough to start looking for a house to buy, despite the fact we had no money for a downpayment.  This is the month we also started saving for a downpayment.  Our friend, Tia, visits and spend some time trying to convince her to move here. Near the end of January, we got a phone call from a distant family member asking us if we were interested in adopting her 6 month old grandson.

Books reviewed: 6

Presidential biographies read: 0

February – was apparently mostly filled with reading.  We drug our movie top ten list out until this month, which is just sad and hopefully won’t be repeated this year.  I’m assuming we celebrated Valentines’ Day by going out to dinner, since that’s what we always do, but the only bit I remember is that Jason had a filling the morning of Valentines Day.  Oh yes, we started looking at houses with our fantastic realtor – Scott – and didn’t find much to go with.  We also started meeting regularly with our mortgage man, Dan.  I kept on reading up on buying houses, and also on Presidents’ Day decided to embark on my great journey of reading Presidential biographies.  We kept up on the adoption thing, but there wasn’t much action going on as at this point it was mostly paperwork.  It was a leap year, and we had a Doxa praise and worship night on the 29th.

Books reviewed: 8

Presidential Biographies read: 1

March – we get the first little inklings that something may not be on the up and up with the adoption process.  But we proceed.  Also, we start aggressively looking at houses, sometimes 8 or 9 each weekend.  Surprisingly, we actually find two we are particularly interested in and start weighing the pros and cons of each.  We finally post the last post of our Top Ten lists.  Sometime in March, the choir from our college comes to visit and we host students overnight.  Which makes us feel old and decrepit.  Jason’s mom and sister come down for a visit and look at the two houses we’re considering, along with my dad, helping us make a decision with their grandiose plans for remodeling each of the two houses in unrealistic ways.  Doxa played at a youth conference hosted by Quinalt Baptist Church and I get a superb report from my cardiologist. And Jason changes our lives forever by signing up for Twitter.  Several minutes later, I do the same.

Books reviewed: 4

Presidential Biographies read: 1

April – April was a very big month for us.  I kicked it off by going on an 11 day trip to Georgia with my mother and middle sister to visit my aunt and cousins.  We had tons of fun shopping, visiting, sight seeing, and eating out.  Jason had less fun while I was away watching movies and eating freezer pizza.  (OK, he only ate pizza once).  Once I got back, there was a flurry of paperwork as we bought our first house!  We spent the next three weeks slowly packing so we could move in the first/second week of May.  We were supposed to hear final decisions on the adoption front, but didn’t.  I celebrated my 26th birthday, although I don’t remember what we did, and on April 29th, we closed on our house.

Books reviewed: 2 (slow month!)

Presidential biographies read: 0

May – On May 10th, we moved into our new house and started settling in.  A decision was made in the adoption fiasco for the baby’s aunt and we tried to wash our hands of the whole matter (though it kept haunting us for months to come).  The first two weeks in our new home were spent on cleaning and painting (which used up a lot of our tax return and stimulus check).  We bought our first major appliance (a fridge) and gained a couch from our friends the Browns.  Jason had his yearly check-up with Dr. Kita at Virginia Mason – with a good report.  Our best friends from college – the Patricks – came to visit for a whole week at the end of the month and we had a great time playing videogames and spoiling their daughter, Maysen.  Doxa had an audition for a worship conference and came in fourth (out of more than four, tyvm).  And I had a very troubling cardiologist’s appointment wherein subsequent appointments were scheduled for July and August.

Books reviewed: 4

Presidential Biographies read: 1

June – On the 7th, my youngest sister graduated from high school.  We also had a Doxa performance that same night.  We actually spent most of the month making a list of what needed to be fixed in our new home and painting the office.  Jason had an entire week of training for work in Seattle and was gracious enough to let me come along.  I spent the week reading in cozy nooks around downtown and walking up and down hills.  We rounded out the weekend by visiting his parents.

Books reviewed: 3

Presidential Bios read: 0

July – We celebrated my favorite holiday with Jason’s family – and many explosives.  They had guests over to their house for food and fun, and we blew up some watermelons just for good measure.  I had my first heart test – a stress test – which didn’t show any problems although I didn’t run as long as I wanted to.  My father had his annual Art in the Park show, which I worked despite the 100 degree heat and we had one of our best years ever.  Jason’s brother and sister came down for that weekend, spurring me to frantically finish up our guest room.

Books reviewed: 6

Presidential Bios read: 0

August – This month kicked off for us with vacation – two weeks of it to be precise.  Jason headed to Vegas for work for a few days while I took off with his family for their annual ski vacation.  We spent much time in the sun, on the boat, round the campfire, and I tried (unsuccesfully) wakeboarding for the first and probably only time.  Upon returning, I actually started up Christmas Play rehearsals, which seems just wrong at that time of the year, let me tell you.  The last weekend of the month, we had Jason’s cousins and a friend come visit us for a few days of technological overload – more movies and videogames than I ever want to be inundated with again.

Books reviewed: 9

Presidential Bios read: 1

September –  This would be the month where all the stress from most of the second half of the year was clumped into.  The adoption monster re-surfaced for a few weeks, as well as my Electrophysiology Panel up in Spokane which brought un-good news.  A pacemaker surgery was scheduled for October.  In a fit of optimistic insanity, we bought Wii Fit and were immediately insulted by our own overweightness.  I managed to finish painting our massive living and dining room, as well as the entryway.  There was continuing Doxa and Christmas Play practice and we celebrated our 2 year wedding anniversary by going out to dinner.

Books reviewed: 7

Presidential biographies read: 1

October – In October, we kicked off with a major surgery.  I had my defibrillating pacemaker put in and started healing for a week before I was back in the hospital, this time dragging my in-laws up with me.  It turned out I had a blood clot in my arm from a botched IV site so everything turned out ok, but man were we not happy to be back up in the hospital.  We continued with Doxa practices and visiting with Jason’s family.  Christmas Play practices started to pick up and we had to have our lines memorized (I forced my husband to run them with me – he now knows most of the play).  I had my second check up with my cardiologist and was told everything looked good.  Halloween was the most boring it’s ever been, with a grand total of five trick-or-treaters.

Books reviewed: 4

Presidential Bios read: 1

November – The beginning of the holiday season!  We were all relieved to have the election over, although for the next week or so afterwards we had to deal with many of our friends not speaking to us on account of our voting choices.  I voted in my very first election this year.  Christmas Play practices picked way up, with dress rehearsals starting two days after Thanksgiving.  Oh yes, turkey day.  We spent this with my family, this year, in anticipation of spending Christmas Day with Jason’s.  My grandmother and uncle were in attendance, along with my brother’s awesome girlfriend.  Kate, my sister, came home and cut everyone’s hair for them.  We also had our first hit of cold weather, which knocked my heart for a whirl.  My final cardiologist pacemaker check up came the day before Thanksgiving, which brought the news that we could start trying for a baby this spring.  And, we bought a 50″ TV.

Books reviewed: 5

Presidential Bios read: 0

December – It almost seems silly to give you an update on this month, since it just happened.  But I will anyway.  The first few days were filled with Christmas Play practices and performances, which my in-laws came down to see.  The next few weeks were full of frantic budgeting and re-budgeting, due to all the medical bills finally catching up to us.  We Christmas shopped and decorated, got our tree, and braved the single digit and negative temperatures.  The snow fell in feet instead of inches or dustings, and we had snow days galore.  Jason even got to go into work late a few times.  There was so much of the white stuff in fact, that we were forced to change our Christmas plans and spend Christmas Eve and Day with my family since we could not get to Jason’s parents’ or Grandmother’s house.  For New Years, we had some friends over for board games and Mariokart and now – this weekend we’re going to play with Doxa at a youth leadership conference in the (MORE) snow.  Hopefully, next week we’ll get our Top Ten of 2008 movie list going, which will definitely not last until March, like last year.

Books reviewed: 4

Presidential Bios read: 1

