brightlights“Whew!  That survey took forever.  So, now I’ll ad a couple of recent snapshots, and an old one from when I was So Very Cut and I’ll title it Jen + NBC = The New Hotness, 2005.  Yes, NBC should definitely be made aware of my Hotness Potential.  Okay, I’m a bit drunkety now with all the drinky drinky wine.  Must sleep.  Zzzzzzz.” – p 245

My mother is the one who introduced Jen Lancaster into my life, and I must admit it was a very good recommendation.  Jen Lancaster is the snarky alter-ego that I sometimes let loose, although much less than I used to.  This is her second book, and while I haven’t read the first one, I could probably guess that it’s just as funny as this one.

We start this book of stories out with a brief synopsis of Jen’s past life – a CEO who has lost her top-tier job and is now temping while she writes her memoirs.  And it just gets better from there.  Jen is brutaly honest about nearly everything – her tendency to drink a bit too much, her hatred of Carrie Bradshaw and Rachel Ray, her weight gain, and how she accidentally called Homeland Security on her neighbor.

Each story is a little picture of just how hilarious a situation one woman can get herself into, whether she’s trying out for The Biggest Loser, or watching her husband chase a coyote down the street.  She has a very definitive voice, the type of writing you feel is talking right to you, unedited and without a filter.  The type that does well on blogs and has come to define chick-lit.  Although this isn’t fictional chick lit.

If you enjoy Laurie Notaro, or even Carrie Bradshaw, you’ll probably enjoy reading Lancaster’s work.

“Recently, my Target added a Starbucks and started selling wine, pretty much cementing it as my favorite store on the face of this earth, and if ever asked what the one thing is I’d take with me to a desert island, I’d say Target, of course.” – p 30

“Bright Lights, Big Ass” was written by Jen Lancaster, and published in 2007.

