Twilightbook“I stared at their faces, so different, so similar, were all devastatingly, inhumanly beautiful.  They were faces you never expected to see except perhaps on the airbrushed pages of a fashion magazine.  Or painted by an old master as the face of an angel.  It was hard to decide who was the most beautiful – maybe the perfect blond girl, or the bronze-haired boy.” – p 19

You have to have been hiding under a moon rock to be unaware of the Twilight phenomenon that’s swept the teenage (and above!) population the past few years.  It’s taken me a while to get around to reading the first book in this series, not because I was prejudiced against them in any way…mostly because I was apathetic.  I consider the quintessential Dracula (by Bram Stoker) and Buffy the Vampire Slayer to be pretty much canon when it comes to the vampire myth, with the possible addition of “The Historian” (great book, btw).  So when I hear of a “love story” between an angsty teen vampire and human girl, the love story between Angel and Buffy comes to mind and I don’t feel it’s imperative I go out and find this book to read.

“Death shouldn’t be this uncomfortable” – p 458

I have to admit it, Stephanie Meyer is a phenomenal author.  She knows what audience she would like to hit with her story and writes precisely what that audience wants.  Focusing on teenage girls and housewives, providing forbidden love and the perfect protector, a young insecure girl who is told by an immortal that she is special and irresistible – exactly what nearly every female would like to read about and a situation most of them would love to be in.  Meyers has created the perfect money making machine in her series, despite the fact she’s openly stated she’s never read “Dracula” nor watched “Buffy” or researched vampire myth anywhere but the internet.

Notice I said that Meyer is a phenomenal author but not that this is a phenomenal book.  The story is simplistic, with no plot until the last third of the book except Bella and Edward’s relationship.  And unfortunately, I can’t say this aspect of her writing improves much in the second book, but more on that in later reviews.  Placing Bella as the narrator was a natural choice, but not one that is particularly enjoyable – seeing as Bella is an infatuated teenager and prone to gushing endlessly on the beauty of Edward.

“How lighthearted, how human he seemed as he laughed now, his seraphic face untroubled.  He was a different Edward than the one I had known.  And I felt all the more besotted by him.  It would cause me physical pain to be separated from him now.” – p 283

Also, and this is an enormous pet peeve of mine, there are several glaringly horrific grammatical and spelling errors in this book.  I don’t know if this is completely Meyer’s fault, since I would hope someone would be proofreading this manuscript before it was printed, but combined with Meyer’s blatant shunning of classic vampire literature in refusing to read “Dracula”, I’m a bit insulted as a reader.  I will have to say that Meyer’s work will stay firmly entrenched in the genre of young adult/teen literature and probably won’t be admitted as a long-term classic.

“Twilight” is the first book in the Twilight series, written by Stephanie Meyer and published in 2005.

