equalrites“One reason for all the bustle was that over large parts of the continent other people preferred to make money without working at all, and since the Disc had yet to develop a music recording industry they were forced to fall back on older, more traditional forms of banditry.” – p 97

Before you think all I read is Terry Pratchett books, ask yourself if you’ve ever read a Terry Pratchett book.  If you have, you’ll know why I’ve gone through this little flurry of Discworld books.  If you haven’t, please remove yourself to your local library and check one out.  Then, you’ll understand.

This book represents the introduction of Granny Weatherwax.  Although most Discworld books can be read in whatever order you choose, I was instructed by the author that before reading “Lords and Ladies,” I needed to read this book and one other before I could fully grasp the characters within L&L.  As everyone in the Discworld knows, only men are allowed to be wizards.  If you are magically inclined and you happen to be female, you are destined to become a witch.  But down in the small town of Bad Ass, a dying wizard blesses the seventh child of a seventh son with his powers.  And only after it’s too late does he realize this seventh child is a girl.  A girl who now has some of the most powerful powers known to wizard-dom.

Eskarina Smith is a precocious child who, now that she has powers, is in training by Granny Weatherwax to be a witch.  Granny also hopes to train that wizard nonsense right out of Esk, and tries to ignore the fact that the girl has disturbing habits with magic and a wizards staff that follows her around furtively for protection.  As usual, destiny sticks its unwanted nose in everyone’s business and sets both Granny and Esk on a path that will forever change the face of wizardry, the Unseen University, and magic itself.

I can’t spout out much more praise for this series.  In fact, I’m going to leave the Disc for a while in order to draw out the pleasure of reading these books over a longer period of time.  I don’t want to run out of them too quickly.  The universe  of Discworld is fully realized, with enough quirks and eccentricities to be inexhaustable entertainment wise.  While I didn’t particularly care for Eskarina, I did rather enjoy being introduced to Granny Weatherwax, and I’m pleased she’s in several other Discworld books.  Granny reminds me somewhat of my grandmother – although my grandmother has no inclination towards magic (I don’t think) – tough and determined to do things her own way.

“Equal Rites” was written by Terry Pratchett and published in

